Trust the His Process

As I was running my fourth of five intervals yesterday, I really wanted to give up. I was tired, Zoey had not slept well the night before, and my legs felt heavy and slow. But as my mind continued to tick off the excuses, I remembered a mantra I’d stored away for times just like this: Trust the Process.

Recently, I’ve been having cabin fever. Being holed up in a cabin, literally, through Alaska’s long winter will do that to a person. I’d been getting outside for runs every once in a while but had no goals, no plan, no focus. This just added to my frustration and it applied across the board in my life.

Since moving to Alaska and having to put finishing my degree on hold, I’d just been coasting. No real goals set, nothing to strive for, nothing worth pushing myself outside my comfort zone. Which was fine in the beginning, I had enough to adjust to, especially with having a newborn at the beginning of this long winter.

But after a few months, I was bored. I’d adapted to balancing two kids, the Alaskan winter life, and still had to wait on finishing my education due to finances. I was getting tired (and cranky, grumpy, gloomy….etc) from the relatively same routine, same schedule, same scenery day in and day out. I was in a rut.

Fortunately my parents came to visit which helped wake me up and brighten my outlook. Thanks Mom and Dad!

So after reading “Train Like A Mother“, I put myself on a training plan, found some local races to set my sights on, and felt an instant mood boost as I typed each workout into my calendar. I thought to myself “Finally some goals, and a plan. All I have to do is stick to it.” And that’s what scares me the most. I’m an awesome planner but my follow through is lacking. But then it hit me: Trust the Process. I’ve done the work of setting out a smart plan, now I just need to trust it.

I need to do this more with my life in general. However, it isn’t my plan and process I have to trust, it’s God’s. Handing over the reigns and trusting His plan is challenging yet comforting all at once. Loved that my devotion this morning led me to some of my favorite passages, Ecc 3:1-8 and Prov. 3:5-7. And of course with all this running talk how could I not bring up Hebrews 12:1-2

Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us, Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God

Wow, so many things hit me as I was typing that out! Definitely going to be a post just about that verse, it will make this one way too long if I typed it all here. I hope that with whatever you are struggling with today, you remember to trust God’s process. When you feel the calling to take action, step up to the challenge, lean on His Strength. When you feel Him telling you to wait or to rest, quiet yourself to hear His voice and receive His wisdom.

One thought on “Trust the His Process

Leave a Reply

