Which way to weigh in on weight?

As I sit here and admire my two week old little girl I can’t help thinking about my weight. It’s been two weeks since this bundle of joy came into the world and my body started on its journey back to normal human status. I am feeling fairly good about my progress so far even though I’m still not allowed to actually work out and I’m not watching my calories like a hawk. However, I haven’t bought a scale yet, and I’m debating whether I really want to or not.

Yes, it’s nice to see the numbers go down but what if they stand still, or go up even if I still look and feel the same. Then what? Then I get to feel bad or upset for a day or two or maybe longer until the numbers get back on the downward trend?? I don’t have time for that! I think I’m going to set myself free from the scale. Numbers are just numbers, and I’ve got enough education and brains to know the gazillion different ways your body weight can fluctuate from weigh-in to weigh-in despite the hard work put in at the gym or diligent adherence to calorie counts in the kitchen. I’m going to measure my weight loss and return to pre-pregnancy body by how my clothes fit and my performance in the gym. Why tie my self-esteem or mood for the day to a number? I’d rather put on my clothes with a smile because they fit great, and celebrate a new personal best in the gym without the thought in the back of my head that I still didn’t lose that last 2, 5, 10 pounds or whatever amount I would have decided meant I had done enough.

 

How do you determine when you are at your best weight? Do you pick a number at random, based on a previous weight you were at, based on a celebrity’s physique, etc? Or do you live by a clothing size or fitness performance? 

6 thoughts on “Which way to weigh in on weight?

  1. Jenn says:

    I love the “being free from a scale” idea! It is definitely more telling to go by the way your clothes fit. Specially if you’re working out, since you’re replacing fat with muscle. You know this, I’m sure :o) I really just wanted to drop a note and say that I love reading your blogs, keep it up!

  2. thats an awesome idea!! I have gained 10 lbs or so and want to get back in shape and all the scale does is make you sad and bring you down! Looks like it is time to ditch the scale and follow in the footsteps of carleen!

  3. Thank you ladies!!!

    I think a lot of times people get discouraged by the scale even when they do know the reasons why it may not reflect the work they put in. It’s hard to unchain yourself from it but once you do, you can put more value on aspects of your health that you can truly control, like the effort you put into a workout or the healthy new recipes you’ve prepared for the week. Focus on the journey and the results will come!

  4. Congratulations on your bundle of joy! What a great approach to getting back to prepregnancy and the scale. I have a scale and I used to be a slave to it. At one point I was working out so much and for 6 weeks I did not see a budgein the scale. Six weeks and then it went down fast but I felt so much better during that time that the number shouldn’t have mattered. Now I judge my weight by how my clothes fit and how I feel. If my clothes are tight I am going up, if I am feeling tired and unhealthy I am too low. I only use my scale to confirm my feelings and as a grounding point now.
    Peace

  5. I go by the scale and the way my clothes fit, although I confess I favor the scale. I guess I need to see evidence, although going by the way one’s clothes fit is probably a lot more meaningful and less stressful.

  6. The number on a scale isn’t the most accurate gauge. Better to go by how you feel and how your clothes fit, I think! After all, muscle weighs more than fat, they say…

Leave a Reply

