Random Friday Facts

I’m inspired by an RD blogger that I follow here to do a random Friday facts list. So, here it goes!

**************************************************************************************

~ One of the only things I really miss about being near a city is Starbucks, I know, thats a sad confession BUT I only miss one drink! My favorite drink of all time, especially in cold weather, the White Chocolate Peppermint Mocha! Fortunately Hubby did a stint as a barista at one time and once we buy an espresso machine and get our hands on some peppermint syrup, it’s on like donkey kong!

~ I haven’t written an opinion piece in a while and it’s bugging me. This lack also reveals that I haven’t been keeping up with the news lately either. My apologies, I got swept up in reading “The Help” but I think it was worth it!

~ I’ve been contemplating and playing with the idea that if we end up staying here in Delta Junction, I’d like to open a bakery/coffee shop. The base is getting built up with new buildings and housing and is obviously not going anywhere. Also, this little town has two drive thru espresso huts but no where to get baked breakfast goods on the go like muffins, breakfast breads, kolaches, etc. And people here are vehemently against big franchises like McDonalds or Starbucks and are strong advocates for small locally owned business. Things are sounding good so far, but we’ll see. Hubby and his pals will be my guinea pigs for new recipes all winter long.

~ I’m truly loving the chilly weather here, theres nothing like not wanting to get out of bed because its warm under the covers and cold everywhere else. Then actually being able to wear socks around the house without your feet sweating. And best of all, breakfast and coffee by the lit fireplace. Not to mention that I could eat oatmeal and chili everyday! I realize my tune my change once we get into the real winter up here but let me roll with this for now!

~ Another reason to love Alaska, they have Lay’s Salt & Vinegar Chips! I know they’re in most northern states but still.

~ Coffeemate Peppermint Mocha creamer is a sad replacement for a Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha, just saying.

~ And with that being said, my coffee is done and its on to laundry, and making some pizza crust & breadstick dough so we’ll have garlic bread with dinner tonight and pizza on Sunday! Yum! Tomorrow I’ll post the recipe and pics of at least the garlic bread!

*************************************************************************************

What are your random Friday facts?

Leave a Reply

